Uncategorized

Beneath the Sycamore Tree

 

I spied you in the crowded street,

Before the rain came down.

I knew it was you, I could see your face,

Before you turned around.

You hurried for cover under a tree,

I chased you in the deluge.

Sneaking up behind your perfect form

To join you in your refuge.

You sensed me there, I heard you gasp,

Before I stretched my arms out.

You stepped back as if you’d seen a ghost,

Resisting your urge to shout.

You haven’t changed or aged at all

I smell your familiar scent.

I need to have you in my arms,

I yearned for your consent.

I came closer to you, held your face in my hands,

You pushed me out of your way.

I had so much to give to you.

I had so much to say.

Your lip starts to tremble from the cold,

Is that fear I see in your eyes?

I pull you close to warm your chill.

It’s been years since our goodbyes.

The heat between us warms the damp air,

The relentless rain keeps pouring.

I try to kiss you, hold you tight.

You glare at me, abhorring.

“It’s been too long since you left me,”

You spat the words in my face.

I had given up on her and our love,

I had vanished without a trace.

“I’m sorry, my love. I’ve come for you,”

My lies fall off of my lips.

I had actually returned, to meet someone new,

This was one of my last trips.

There was a reason that I found her, though,

In the crowded street of the fair.

Fate has brought her back to me,

Suddenly she was there.

I leaned against the tree trunk,

I struggled for words to tell her.

She shivered and shook; an emotional wreck.

I lied, “There has been no other.”

We embrace with love, we remember our past,

The thunder rolled from above.

Her soft lips, her body, her soul,

She has always been my true love.

She surrendered to me, we renewed our passion,

God, I missed her so very much.

I exploded in our inferno of lust.

Her kisses, her merciless touch.

When the clouds broke apart and the sun shone,

She whispered, “I need to go now.”

I held her tightly, loving her madly,

“We’ll see each other somehow”.

As she made her way back down the street,

Tears streamed within my soul.

She made me feel like so wonderful.

She made my body feel whole.

I never saw her face again,

Once she slowly strolled away,

I heard she had vanished from our hometown

The papers said she died last May.

I know it was her, her sweetness, her body

We made love and fell so very deeply.

We’d said one, final, amazing goodbye.

Beneath that Sycamore tree.

Photo by JR Korpa on Unsplash

Leave a comment